Nick Ormerod, scénographe


Nick Ormerod est avec le metteur en scène Declan Donnellan, le co-fondateur et co-artistique directeur de Cheek by Jowl. Il a scénographié tous les spectacles de Cheek by jowl à part The Doctor of Honour.

“His genius is a visual poetry of suggestion, of material minimalism”.

Carol Chillington Rutter

Après avoir obtenu un diplôme d’avocat Nick Ormerod étudie la scénographie à la Wimbledon School of Art. Pendant un an il travaille en tant qu’assistant au Lyceum Theatre à Edinbourg. Il commence ensuite à travailler avec Declan Donnellan sur différents projets pour la Royal Court and Arts Educational School avant de créer Cheek by Jowl en 1981. Depuis lui et son partenaire ont présenté leurs spectacles dans plus de 400 villes et reçu des prix dans la monde entier.

Le travail d’Ormerod se caractérise par sa simplicité et sa franchise, une approche qui a donné une identité visuelle au travail de la compagnie et qui leur a permis de remporter le prix de Corral de Comedias avec Donnellan en 2008 et un grand nombre de prix dont le prix Olivier pour le meilleur scénographe de l’année en 1988 pour Une affaire de famille, La tempête et Philoctotes.

Autres spectacles: Shakespeare amoureux (Noël Coward Theatre), Grandeur et Décadence de la ville de Mahagonny (English National Opera), Martin Guerre (Theatre du Prince Edward), Hayfever (Savoy Theatre), Antigone (The Old Vic), Falstaff de Verdi (Salzburg Festival), Le Conte d’Hiver (Maly Drama Theatre of St Petersburg), et Romeo et Juliette et Hamlet pour le Ballet du Bolshoi

Pour le Royal National Theatre: Fuenteovejuna, Peer Gynt, Sweeney Tood, Le Mandat et les deux parties d’Angels in America.

Pour la Royal Shakespeare Company: L’école du scandale, Le Roi Lear (RSC Academy), et une co-adaptation avec Decland Donnellan Des Grandes Espérances.

En 2012, Ormerod co-réalise son premier film Bel Ami avec Declan Donnellan.

Articles en français:

Le Figaro 8 Mars 2007 (PDF)

Nick Ormerod Designer


Nick Ormerod is co-founder and joint Artistic Director of Cheek by Jowl, with director Declan Donnellan, and has designed all but one of Cheek by Jowl's productions.

His genius is a visual poetry of suggestion, of material minimalism Carol Chillington Rutter

After qualifying as a barrister, Nick Ormerod trained in Theatre Design at Wimbledon School of Art. His first job in theatre was a year as an assistant at the Lyceum Theatre, Edinburgh. From there he went on to work with Declan Donnellan on various productions for the Royal Court and Arts Educational Schools before forming touring theatre company, Cheek by Jowl in 1981. Since then, he and his partner have taken work to nearly 400 cities, and received awards across the world.

Ormerod's work is characterised by its simplicity and directness, an approach that has shaped the visual signature of the company's work and led to winning the Corral de Comedias Award with Donnellan in 2008 and numerous other awards including an Olivier Award nomination for Designer of the Year (1988) for A Family Affair, The Tempest and Philoctotes.

Other productions include: Shakespeare in Love (Noël Coward Theatre), The Rise and Fall of the City of Mahagonny (English National Opera), Martin Guerre (Prince Edward Theatre), Hayfever (Savoy Theatre), Antigone (The Old Vic), Verdi's Falstaff (Salzburg Festival), and Romeo and Juliet and Hamlet for the Bolshoi Ballet.

For the Royal National Theatre: Fuenteovejuna, Peer Gynt, Sweeney Todd, The Mandate, and both parts of Angels in America.

For the Royal Shakespeare Company: The School for Scandal, King Lear (RSC Academy), and his and Donnellan's adaptation of Great Expectations.

In 2012, Ormerod co-directed the feature film Bel Ami with Declan Donnellan.